To Be Young, Fabulous and The Master


“The more you are motivated by love, the more fearless and free your actions will be.”

–Katherine Mansfield, author

Ladies and gentlecats,

Today, I was The Master.

For those who are unfamiliar with the Science Fiction series, Dr. Who, The Master is the the Doctor’s arch nemesis and one that has tried to cause the hero harm on way too many occasions.  In fact, this is him right here:

Image
The Master

And so it would make sense, here’s my version of him:

Image
Me as The Master

Now.  You’re probably asking yourself why I am playing the part of someone I cannot and will not look like.  There are obvious physical differences between the two of us and I am most certainly far from British.  But there is an awesome reason behind my cosplay moment.

Let me explain.

Today was the annual Pride Parade here in Buffalo, New York and Nickel City Cooperative marched in the parade this year.  The parade’s theme was “Fearlessness”–living fearlessly as a gay, lesbian, bisexual, queer, intersexed, omnisexual, pansexual individual.  To live freely by celebrating your identity.  My fellow housemates and I decided to march as a crossover between Dr. Who and Game of Thrones. The reason why we went with that idea is 1) many of us are fans of either one show or the other and 2) certain characters of Dr. Who have become gay icons (i.e. Captain Jack Harkness is in an same-sex relationship in the Dr. Who spin-off series Torchwood).  The show itself has many story lines featuring same-sex couples and does so without shame.  This type open mindedness reminds of the Star Trek series, in which the concept of sexuality is a common theme.

A couple of the housemates were able to create a man operated float out of our old futon while others constructed a TARDIS out of a refrigerator box. The end result was something like this:

Image
Our TARDIS. Yeah. We’re nerdy like that :o)

As far as the characters themselves, my housemate Bridge played the part of the Tenth Doctor while I was The Master.  The others who participated were GOT characters, wearing dresses and looking very cute by the by (I thoroughly enjoyed watching them walking around in dresses.  But that’s just me being…well…).

ANYWAY, to make a long story short, we were the talk of the party.  Every time we walked past a crowd, people would jump up and down and scream “OH MY GOD!!!  THE TARDIS!!!! as they frantically snapped pictures with their cell phones.  Complete strangers walked up to us and said, “This is awesome.”  One person hugged Bridge after the parade ended and declared “You’re a Time Lord.  I need to hug you now.”

As for me, I was not recognized as The Master. After I took off my suit jacket and rolled up my sleeves, I looked more like a hit man than a sci-fi character.  But I personally didn’t care; this was one of the most incredible experiences I ever had.  For one, I could sense nothing but positive energy surrounding me.  Though I half suspected the parade to run into crazy religious protesters, imagine my relief when there were only three of them standing on the corner of North and Elmwood–their voices drowned out by more than a dozen of supporters.

And we have a lot to celebrate: Rhode Island, Deleware and Minnesota passed a marriage equality bill and France legalized same-sex marriage as well.  Government officials are now beginning to realize that many are calling for marriage equality. Grassroots activism made this possible by demanding that same-sex relationships be recognized legally. The result is these marriages are being legalized in twelve states; couples who have built a life together now receiving the same state benefits as their heterosexual counterparts.

All in all, today was a good day.  I was in cosplay mode and participated in the celebration of life.  I was surrounded by people who lived their lives fearlessly and with complete abandon.  I was a part of this moment and for that, I am extremely grateful.

Happy pride!

Leave a Reply

